Arizona FAQs



  • 1.Arizona Traffic
  • Can I switch to a different class?
    administrator08-09-2015

    Yes. Please call our office between 5am PST to 5pm PST Monday thru Friday to reschedule your class. Please note there is a $12 rescheduling fee. Remember, the state of Arizona requires the defensive driving course to be completed at least seven (7) days prior to your court date.

  • Do I have to report my class completion to the court?
    administrator08-09-2015

    No, once you complete the class NTSI reports it to the court on your behalf; unless the court has made a special request for you to submit your certificate of completion.

  • Do I still have to pay a fine?
    administrator08-09-2015

    No, by selecting the defensive driving diversion program, you are not required to pay an additional fee for that specific violation. Please note defensive driving can only be used for one violation within a 12 month period. If you have multiple violations on the citation, they will need to be handled accordingly.

  • Do you offer an online course?
    administrator08-09-2015

    Yes! NTSI offers Defensive Driving School online in both English and Spanish.

  • How do I cancel a class?
    administrator08-09-2015

    Please call NTSI at 1 800 726 6874 Monday through Friday from 5am PST to 5pm PST to cancel or reschedule a class.

  • How do I pay for a class?
    administrator08-09-2015

    We have many options for payment. You may either pay in advance with a credit/debit card or bring a money order the day of the class. Please note, we DO NOT take personal checks nor are we able to process credit cards the day of the class.

  • How long is the class?
    administrator08-09-2015

    Instruction time is 4 ½ hours, not including any breaks so classes will be between 4 ½ and 5 hours.

  • How often can I attend Defensive Driving class?
    administrator08-09-2015

    You may attend a defensive driving school class once every 12 months (1 year). The year is calculated from violation date to violation date. For example, if you received a violation on 2/5/2015, you are eligible for a violation occurring on or after 2/5/2016.

  • Is Defensive Driving School the same as Traffic Survival School?
    administrator08-09-2015

    No. Defensive driving is 4 ½ hours and is regulated by the Arizona Supreme Court for citation dismissal. Traffic Survival School is 8 hours long and is regulated by the MVD. Participants receive a letter from MVD ordering them to take Traffic Survival School, Courts rarely order someone to complete Traffic Survival School unless it is part of a plea agreement.

  • What do I need in order to register for a class?
    administrator08-09-2015

    Specific information is needed from both your driver’s license and your citation to register for the class.

  • What do I need to bring to the class?
    administrator08-09-2015

    Bring your driver’s license, citation, extension or court paperwork (if applicable), payment in a form of money order or cashier’s check (or proof of prepayment by credit card), and a pen.

  • What is the fee to attend Defensive Driving School?
    administrator08-09-2015

    The cost varies depending on the court that issued your citation. Each court decides on their fee.
    To locate your cost, you can use the cost calculator or look it up.

  • What should I do if I need an extension?
    administrator08-09-2015

    Please contact the court directly. Note: Certain courts provide a school continuance when you register at least 7 days prior to the court date. Please contact our office for more information.

  • What's the difference between a CDL (Commercial Driver's License) and an operator's license?
    administrator08-09-2015

    A CDL is for professional drivers (truck drivers, bus drivers, etc). If you hold a CDL license at the time you received the citation, regardless of whether you were operating a commercial vehicle, you are not eligible to attend defensive driving school.

  • Where do you hold classes?
    administrator08-09-2015

    We have 3 locations in Tucson (Airport, Downtown and Foothills) and 1 in Glendale.

  • Why are some violations not eligible?
    administrator08-09-2015

    Only civil moving violations are eligible. DUI, seatbelt, no insurance and no registration violations are not moving violations, so they are not eligible. For a complete list of eligible violations, please click: http://ntsi.com/arizona-old/eligible-violations/.

  • Why do I have to arrive 30 minutes early?
    administrator08-09-2015

    We ask you to arrive 30 minutes prior to the start of class so everyone may be registered and start class on time.

  • Why should I select the defensive driving program instead of paying the fine?
    administrator08-09-2015

    There are several advantages to attending a defensive driving class. By taking the class, you avoid any points showing on your record. As a result, your vehicle insurance rates will not be affected.

  • Once I submit a copy of my driver’s license and citation, how long will it take to activate my online course?
    admin06-12-2016

    Typically these requests are processed within the hour during business hours.