The TLSAE or First Time Driver Course is required for all new drivers in Florida. Sign up for our easy-to-complete course and get started today.
- Get your license for the first time
- Learn the rules of the road
- Learn how drugs/alcohol can affect driving habits
- Start your driving experience on the right foot
Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education (TLSAE)
This course is for the individual who is attending:
Florida Statute (F.S.) 322.095 – Traffic Law and Substance Abuse Education program for first time Florida driver license applicants. Successful completion of a Traffic Law and Substance Abuse (TLSAE) Course is required by Florida state law for all first time drivers desiring to obtain a learner’s driver license.
The TLSAE (also known as “D.A.T.A” – Drug, Alcohol, and Traffic Awareness) online course reduces the number of persons killed and injured on highways by helping drivers of all ages become well-informed and responsible. The program covers state laws, the effects of alcohol and drugs on driving and techniques for avoiding crashes.
The TLSAE online course requires a total of 4 hours of course time. At the end of 4 hours a 40 question multiple choice test must be passed to complete the TLSAE course and allow your completion information to be transmitted electronically to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles. You must answer 32 of the 40 questions correctly to pass the exam. You will have 3 attempts at the final exam. If after those three attempts the final exam is not passed, you may contact our office to have your final exam reset for an additional 3 attempts for a $15 test retake fee.
After registering, completing the course and passing the final test, your information will be transmitted electronically to the Florida Department of Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles and appear in their system in approximately one 1 business day after completion. Your certificate will be emailed to the email address entered during registration. This certificate is for your records.
Once you register you will have 90 days to complete the course. You may take the course at any time of day and pause or exit the course at any time. If you exit the course or have your Internet connection disrupted your total time spent at that point is recorded. You may re-enter the course by entering your username and selecting the course title along the left hand side of the Main Menu to be redirected back to the position in the course where you exited.
If you have any questions or require any assistance, you may contact us at firstname.lastname@example.org or at 888-497-4499. Thank you for your inquiry and we hope to receive your registration soon.
How Our Training Works
Our program is very simple. It is designed to accommodate the expert and the novice Internet user. You may log onto our website, register and enroll online. Or, you may call us and register in just minutes on the telephone and begin immediately!
When you register, you will be given a username (User I.D.) to gain immediate access to the program. All students must be a resident of the State of Florida and at least 14 years old at the time of course registration. Be aware that this program must be completed within 60 days of receipt of access to course site.
Taking the Course
The TLSAE course is divided into 5 modules.
|1||Physiological Factors – How alcohol, tobacco and other drugs affect your body and may influence your quality of life.|
|2||Psychological Factors – Pre-Addiction, Abuse, and Risks surrounding alcohol and drugs.|
|3||Societal and Economic Costs of Alcohol and Drug Abuse – National, State, and Age-specific statistics relating to crashes and the burden this places on the country.|
|4||Effects of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse on the Driver – The effects of Alcohol and Other Drug abuse as they directly relate to driving behavior.|
|5||Major Traffic Laws in Florida – Specific rules and skills. You are encouraged to drive defensively and responsibly by using good judgment behind the wheel.|
DMV Permit TestGet Your DMV Permit Test
You can now take your Driver’s License Exam online at our website. You DO NOT need to wait in long lines anymore at the Driver’s License office. Just sign up at our secure website and take the Driver’s License Exam. Your certificate and test results will be transferred electronically to the DHSMV. You will still be required to pay the DMV an additional fee for your vision test, hearing test, and your photograph for your actual license. (You will pay the additional fee when you arrive at your local DMV).
NTSI’s Florida TLSAE course has an optional audio read-along built into the course. If you would rather sit back and listen to the course instead of reading, then the Audio Read-Along option is perfect for you. Select the Audio Read-Along checkbox when you’re checking out to enable this feature for your course.
Want to see it in action? Watch this screen recording of the Audio Read-Along feature below.
More Florida Traffic School Courses
Are you looking for another course? Take a look at our complete Florida Traffic School options.
- Works Around Your Schedule
- 100% Online (safe and secure!)
- Start and Stop Whenever You Like