5 Hour Pre Licensing Course Online

The New York 5 Hour Pre Licensing Course Online will teach you the skills and knowledge you need to be a safer and more responsible driver.

First-time drivers will learn New York traffic laws, defensive driving skills, Rules of the road, and many more valuable skills.

  • New York State DMV Approved Provider
  • Satisfy the Pre-Licensing Course Requirement for Road Test
  • No Final Exam
  • Complete the course at your own pace entirely online
  • $44.95 covers everything needed to complete the course. There are no hidden fees!
  • Available in english and spanish

5 Hour Pre Licensing Course Online

The New York 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Course teaches new drivers with the knowledge and skills they need to become a responsible and safer driver. This online course meets all New York State DMV requirements. There are no hidden fees.

All new drivers must complete the 5-hour pre-licensing course before scheduling the road test for their first driver license.

To take the course, students must:

  • be 18 or older
  • have a valid photo learner permit

In this course students will learn about:

  • New York vehicle and traffic laws
  • Safe driving behaviors
  • Defensive driving skills
  • Dangers of driving under the influence
  • Common risks for new drivers

Upon successful completion of the course, a student’s completion information will be automatically sent to the NYSDMV. To get your first driver license, simply schedule an appointment for your road test and pass your behind-the-wheel assessment.

Senate Bill S3965-A was signed into law by Gov. Andrew Cuomo in 2019. This bill approves a pilot program for creating an online course for the 5-hour pre-licensing course that was traditionally only offered in a classroom. This program will run from June 30, 2020 to June 30, 2025.

The state will now allow drivers over the age of 18 to take the Pre-Licensing Program in a convenient 5-hour online version that can be completed at your own pace and from the comfort of your home.

At this time, the New York DMV does not allow teens under 18 to enroll in the Online Pre-Licensing Program. New drivers seeking their junior driver license (Class DJ) or junior motorcycle license (Class MJ) must continue to take the 5-hour course in person.

Este curso también está disponible en español.

Audio Read-Along

NTSI’s NY 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Course has an optional audio read-along built into the course. If you would rather sit back and listen to the course instead of reading, then the Audio Read-Along option is perfect for you. Select the Audio Read-Along checkbox when you’re checking out to enable this feature for your course.

Want to see it in action? Watch this screen recording of the Audio Read-Along feature below.

  • Works Around Your Schedule
  • 100% Online (safe and secure!)
  • Start and Stop Whenever You Like
  • Audio Read-Along Available

$44.95

Register Now!

Regístrese para curso en español

Frequently Asked Questions

Is this course available now?

Yes! NTSI has received approval from the NY DMV as provider #6.

What Is the New York 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Course?

The New York 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Course is a 100% online program that teaches new drivers how to drive safely and comply with the New York Vehicle and Traffic Law. We are approved by the NY DMV to offer the 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Program, also known as OPL.

If you’re seeking a New York driver license, you’re required to complete the 5-hour course online or in person before you schedule an appointment for your behind-the-wheel road test.

Who Can Take the 5-Hour Course Online?

The New York Online Pre-Licensing Program is designed for new drivers ages 18 and up who are seeking a New York driver license. Students must have a photo learner permit before starting the course. Your photo permit will arrive in the mail about two weeks after the NYSDMV issues your temporary permit.

At this time, the NYSDMV does not allow new drivers seeking a junior driver license (Class DJ) or junior motorcycle license (Class MJ) to take the pre-licensing course online. These new drivers must complete a 5-hour classroom course.

Do I Need a Photo Learner Permit to Take the 5-Hour Course?

Yes. Before you can start your online 5-hour course, the NYSDMV requires you to prove you have a valid New York learner permit that includes your photograph. If you have a temporary learner permit with no photo, you must wait until you have a photo permit before you start your training. You may be required to submit a copy of your photo permit upon completion of the course.

The NYSDMV issues temporary learner permits to drivers immediately after they pass the written permit exam at a DMV office. After you earn your temporary permit, it takes about two weeks for your photo permit to arrive in the mail. NTSI requires your most recent photo permit in order to process your completion.

What Topics Does the 5-Hour Course Cover?

The 5-hour course provides vital education to new drivers, including rules of the road, defensive driving techniques and more.

Other course topics include:

  • New York vehicle and traffic laws
  • Habits and skills for safe driving
  • Risks of driving under the influence
  • How to drive safely on the highway
  • Aggressive driving and road rage

Upon completion of the course, you’ll know more about the responsibilities of safe drivers and a wide range of factors that can affect your driving.

Do I Need to Confirm My Identity to Take the Course?

Yes. The course uses a technique called Voice Biometrics to make sure that no one except the person who registered for the course participates in the program. This identity validation feature allows you to complete your training at your own pace across multiple sessions.

When you start the course, you will be asked to call a phone number, enter a unique student ID number and read off a series of numbers. Your student ID and the verification numbers will appear on your screen within the course player, and your voice will be recorded as you read the numbers out loud.

At several checkpoints throughout your training, you must repeat the process of calling in to confirm your identity. During each checkpoint, you will receive a new student ID and another set of numbers to read. The Voice Biometric system will validate your identity by comparing each new voice sample you provide with your original voice sample.

Students will not be able to continue the course until they pass each Voice Biometric checkpoint. Due to DMV standards, failing three consecutive voice checkpoints will exclude you from the course. If this occurs, please contact National Traffic Safety Institute at 800-733-6874 for further instructions.

Does the 5-Hour Course Have a Final Exam?

The New York 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Course includes ten quizzes, but it does not have a final exam. Each of the nine learning modules ends in a brief quiz, and you’re required to score 70% or higher to continue to the next section. You have up to three attempts to pass each quiz.

When Will I Get My Certificate of Completion?

After you successfully pass the online pre-licensing course, NTSI will email you a confirmation of your course completion and automatically submit your completion information to the NYSDMV. It may take up to 24 to 48 hours for your course completion to be posted on your driver record.

You will not need to provide an original Pre-Licensing Course Certificate (MV-278) when you arrive at a NYSDMV test location to take your road test. However, students who complete the 5-hour pre-licensing course in the classroom are required to present this document before their road test.

How Long Does It Take to Complete the Pre-Licensing Course?

The New York 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Course takes about five hours to complete. It includes nine learning modules and at least 270 minutes of instruction, not including quizzes. You can complete the timed course modules at your own pace and take multiple breaks.

How Long Do I Have to Complete the Course?

Due to NYSDMV regulations, you must complete the New York 5-Hour Online Pre-Licensing Course within 30 calendar days of registering for the course.

Do I need a Pre-Licensing Course Certificate to change my license from one class to another?

No, you do not need a Pre-licensing Course Certificate or a Student Certificate of Completion if you have a valid NY State driver license and you apply to amend to another license Class.